Letter by HH Janananda Gosvami to HG Kalidas Prabhu

BY JANANANDA GOSVAMI

PHOTOS BY HARI VENGAT RAO

I feel so sad that I was unable to post the following – I wrote it on the 20th but could not get online for  3 days. I will miss Kalidascharan so much – we spent lots of time together. Please send my best wishes and condolensces to his family.

Please pass on
Dear Kalidascharan prabhu

Please accept my humble obeisances. All glories to Srila Prabhupada.

I have just heard you are in serious health condition again. Really speaking we are always in danger. Sometimes we realize it sometimes not. For sure you have had warning for quite some time now and I know you are seriously

preparing. I am confident that despite the fact we are sad to hear of your condition, at the the same time confident of your future. I will never forget the countless times we went together preaching in the Klang district, and the programmes in the little Krishna Temple in Port Klang.
I am sure the innumerable fruits of your years of selfless service will secure your path back to Godhead. I am praying for your welfare and especially that you remember Krsna at this difficult time. Thanking you and your family for your very kind association

Hare Krishna

I hope this finds you well.
Your servant

Janananda Gosvami

The holy name of Shri Krishna emits nectarean rays which cause the white lily (kumudini) of supreme fortune to bloom. As the moon, by its rays, causes the white lilies to blossom and become very fragrant, the holy name, by the transmission of its potency, causes all kinds of good fortune to arise for the jivas. The following verse from the Skanda Purana has been cited as evidence of this in the Hari-bhakti-vilasa (Hari-bhakti-vilasa 11.234):

madhura-madhuram-etan mangalam mangalanam

sakala-nigamavalli-satphalam citsvarupam

sakridapi parigitam shraddhaya helaya va

bhriguvara nara-matram tarayet krishna-nama

“Of all that is auspicious, the holy name of Shri Krishna stands supreme. Of all that is sweet, the holy name is sweeter still. It is the eternal, fully-spiritual fruit of the wish-fulfilling tree of the entire Vedas. O best of the Bhrigus! If anyone even once chants the holy name of Lord Krishna, either with faith or indifferently-but free from any offense-the holy name immediately delivers him from the ocean of material existence.”