HH Janananda Gosvami – Health Update

BY JANANANDA GOSVAMI

Dear Devotees
Please accept my humble obeisances. All glories to Srila Prabhupada.

I would just like to inform you my health is rapidly improving and in a few days I should be off medication. I was suffering from a Urinary Tract infection causing fever and many other side effects. At the same time an element of exhaustion, digestive problems and flu all at the same time. At present I am in Vrndavana for the Kartika month and plan to take it a little easier in terms of physical exertion this time.

I very much thank the many of you who sent their well wishing letters for my health and anyone who kindly put me in their prayers. It is surely due to your prayers that I have made such a speedy recovery.
Please forgive me if I cannot respond to each individual letter in this regards. In the following letter from Srila Prabhupada the stark reality of disease is revealed:

My Dear Mukunda,

Please accept my blessings. I am in due receipt of your letter dated May 23, 1969, and I have noted the contents carefully. You don’t worry about my health. I am quite fit now, and in New Vrindaban I am walking on the hills daily. In Boston for three or four days I had some acute backache pain, but by the Grace of Krishna it was made all right very soon. This body is called the temple of diseases. So long as there is no disease it is wonderful, but when there is disease it is not wonderful. So this is the temple of disease. Of course, you are all very kind upon me, whenever I am slightly indisposed you become concerned, and I thank you very much for such anxiety. But so far as I am concerned, I always wish only to expedite my mission of life to spread Krishna Consciousness in the Western part of the world. I hope this will meet you in good health.

Your ever well-wisher,
A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami
27 May, 1969

We are already in a sick condition suffering from one form of misery or  another. Dukhalayam asasvatam – temporary and miserable. The prayers  and good wishes of others are very valuable in helping us to recover  from our material disease – please always feel for the welfare of  others and pray that everyone may come to the state of Krishna  consciousness.
Prahlada Maharaja prayed as follows:

svasty astu visvasya khalah prasidatam
dhyayantu bhutani sivam mitho dhiya
manas ca bhadram bhajatad adhoksaje
avesyatam no matir apy ahaituki

May there be good fortune throughout the universe, and may all envious persons be pacified. May all living entities become calm by practicing bhakti-yoga, for by accepting devotional service they will think of each other’s welfare. Therefore let us all engage in the service of the supreme transcendence, Lord Sri Krsna, and always remain absorbed in thought of Him.
SB 5.18.9

One good thing about sickness is the realization of the horrible nature of material sense gratification. There is a nice verse by Jamunacarya in this regards. He writes: “Whenever the thought for material sex life enters my mind my lips curl and I spit at the thought.” In sickness that’s how it feels. The child in the womb, suffering so much, prays to the Lord for release, promising never to stray form Him again. But once released he forgets his prayers and again become conquered by maya.

Right now we have the shocking news of HH Jayapataka Swami being critically ill in Bombay, having suffered two brain hemorrhages. I beg all to pray for his speedy recovery, that he may again be the victory flag on the front line of the battlefield against maya, even more surcharged and pleasing to Srila Prabhupada than ever before.

I am watching the reality of this world here in Vrndavan Dham right before my eyes as I see millions of tiny flies every night swarm around the lights for a few hours before dying – their life span over. Swept up in the morning to be thrown in the bin. This is the result of this so valuable material body – in the rubbish. The same will happen to all of us in time.

Please take seriously this human life and chant Hare Krishna.

I hope this finds you well.
Your servant
Janananda Gosvami

One thought on “HH Janananda Gosvami – Health Update

  1. thank u swami 4 this important reminder.
    i might add that 4 months in one place was observed of old by the ancients.
    not just because of the weather but for recharging themselves from constant travelling. the side effect being the third of a year in one spot creates devotees’ ashrams.

Comments are closed.