Miraculous transformation

BY VINODH PILLAI

My deities before

My deities before

In 2004, my mother went to India and bought me a set of Jagannath, Baladev and Subhatra deities. They are quite small and cute. I really love them very much. That year, I had chicken pox. My mother quarantined me in my room but allowed me to be with my deities. She applied calomine lotion on all my spots. Since I was still young, I thought that if I were sick, the deities must be too. So I put the lotion on them too.

My mother was furious and chastised me. She cleaned my deities as much as she could but they never looked the same as before. I was very sad. This was my punishment for being so foolish.

Last Sunday, my mother allowed to take the deities to the temple as she wanted to talk to the children about Jagannath’s appearance before the mini Ratha Yatra. My grandmother made some simple dress for them. My sister, Breenda and I made some bead necklaces. At the temple, Sahadev prabhu asked me if I wanted to get my deities painted and I was more than happy to say “yes”. After 4 years, my deities will get a fresh paint!

He has finished painting them now and what a transformation it was!

SRI SRI JAGANNATH, BALADEV, SUBHATRA MAYI KI! JAY!

My deities after

My deities after